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This act summary is provided for the convenience of the public and members of the General 

Assembly.  It is intended to provide a general summary of the act and may not be 

exhaustive.  It has been prepared by the staff of the Office of Legislative Counsel without 

input from members of the General Assembly.  It is not intended to aid in the interpretation 

of legislation or to serve as a source of legislative intent.  

 

Act No. 107 (H.655).  Health; professions and occupations; health care 

professionals; telehealth; licensure; registration; provisional licensure 

An act relating to telehealth licensure and registration and to provisional 

licensure for professions regulated by the Office of Professional Regulation 

This act creates a telehealth licensure and registration system that allows a 

health care professional who is not otherwise licensed, certified, or registered to 

practice in Vermont but is licensed, certified, or registered in good standing in any 

other U.S. jurisdiction to obtain a telehealth license or registration from the Office 

of Professional Regulation (OPR) or Board of Medical Practice to provide health 

care services to a patient in Vermont using telehealth.  A telehealth license allows 

the health care professional to deliver services by telehealth to not more than 20 

unique patients located in Vermont during the two-year term of the license, which 

is renewable, and the telehealth license fee is 75 percent of the renewal fee for a 

full license to practice the profession.  A telehealth registration allows the health 

care professional to deliver services by telehealth to not more than 10 unique 

patients located in Vermont during the 120-day term of the registration, which is 

not renewable; a health care professional may only obtain a telehealth registration 

once during a three-year period.  The telehealth registration fee is the lesser of the 

application fee for a full license to practice the profession or 50 percent of the 

renewal fee for a full license to practice the profession.   

The act specifies that a health care professional who wants to provide services 

to patients in Vermont using telehealth also continues to have the option to pursue 

a full license to practice the profession.  If a health care professional holding a 

telehealth registration applies for a telehealth license or full license within three 

years following the effective date of the professional’s telehealth registration, the 

amount paid for the telehealth registration will be credited and applied toward the 

amount of the fee for a telehealth license or a full license, as applicable.  

Similarly, if a health care professional holding a telehealth license applies for a 

full license while the professional’s telehealth license is in effect, the amount paid 

for the telehealth license will be credited and applied toward the amount of the fee 

for a full license.  The act appropriates $360,000 to OPR to develop and 

implement the telehealth licensure and registration system. 

The act also allows the Director of OPR to issue a 90-day provisional license 

in any field to individual who has completed an application for full licensure and 

whose eligibility for licensure is contingent upon acceptable verification of 
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licensure from another jurisdiction, whose eligibility for licensure is contingent 

upon completion of a background check, or who is an active-duty member of the 

U.S. Armed Forces assigned to duty in Vermont or the member’s spouse.  The 

provisional license is based on a voluntary agreement between the applicant and 

OPR to expedite the applicant’s entry into the workforce in exchange for the 

applicant forgoing the regular procedural rights; the applicant’s only remedy if 

aggrieved by a denial or withdrawal of a provisional license is to apply for a 

regular license through the usual process.  The act allows the OPR Director to 

extend a provisional license beyond 90 days if the reason for issuing it has not 

been resolved. 

Multiple effective dates, beginning on May 9, 2022 


